Hey! It’s been a while

So.. It’s been a while. This is like when you bump into someone that you used to spend a lot of time with and aren’t really in each other’s lives anymore. It’s really great to see them but you have no idea what to say and “yeah doing alright thanks, yourself?” Does not cover anything remotely near what your life has been like for the past months/years. This has actually happened quite a lot recently.

Since returning from Africa I have been doing my access course,  Christmas temp work at LUSH and applying for University. Sadly, this has been met with “Shyeah.. But for how long until you give up?” On numerous occasions. Inspiring, right?

I don’t answer this question, because it’s not worthy of an answer. Right now, I feel like a winner. I was incredibly anxious about going back to college. For a while it was sickness, tears and pep talks. I could not have asked for better circumstances though as my teachers are incredibly supportive and I have a fantastic class full of awesome individuals. I’m actually fond of every single one of them. I’m really enjoying the course itself and the way it is structured works way better for me than A Levels did. I would strongly recommend taking a look at an access course if you have university in mind but feel stuck in a rut and don’t have the needed qualifications to move on. If you would like to find out more about access courses at Northampton College, please feel free to drop me a message or visit the Northampton College website for more information.

^ I’m so sorry, this wasn’t meant to be an advert.

I’m not really sure what else to say.. Probably a good time to apologise for being rubbish with communication. I’ve been a bit cut-off from friends and groups recently so that I can focus on the course and life stuff. When you are easily distracted by anything and everything, you sometimes have to be a bit strict with yourself. It doesn’t mean that I’ve lost interest in things or the wonderful people that I am lucky to know. I’m not good at small talk over social media, it just doesn’t feel real. Seriously though,  if you want to catch up just say when and where. Cafes are always good. Cafes are great.

Incase you didn’t know, Christmas is on the way. I’ve never said that I’m a Christmas enthusiast. Except for when acting as an Elf or selling panto merchandise. The bah humbug thing isn’t really good for business. I can pretend for a while but Maria’s ‘All I want for Christmas’ plays and I start twitching. It’s not because I hate fun and joy. It’s in anticipation of the anti-climax after Christmas and New Year. I also sit there on Christmas Day thinking about people who are suffering or alone whilst I put on a paper hat and tuck into my turkey. I’d probably feel differently about it all if I had children. At the end of the day, you just need to be with loved ones and remind them how grateful you are to have them in your life. I mean, that’s what it’s about right?

*AAAH. Slightly unrelated.. But whoever was my LUSH secret Santa, you are a star! I am saving my Millie’s Cookies gift card for a rainy day 🙂 thank you, thank you, thank you!

Leave a comment